MPT LTE+ Service To Be Launched In 6 More Cities In August

17 Aug 2017

(Yangon, 17 August 2017) – Starting from 18th August, mobile users in Lashio, Nyaung-U, Myitkyina and Hpa-An can enjoy high-speed fourth-generation network speeds for the first time on the 1.8GHz spectrum. MPT’s new LTE+ service will also be available soon after in Keng Tung and Loikaw on 24th August, bringing it to a total of six new coverage areas in Kachin, Kayah, Kayin, Mandalay, Northern Shan and Eastern Shan on Myanmar’s fastest and widest network.

The operator has been working on upgrading its mobile network throughout the country to deliver LTE+ powered by 4×4 MIMO advanced technology as part of its service expansion. With the new additions, it will reach 78 townships, including 28 cities, State and Regional capitals by the end of the month.

To celebrate the network availability at these locations, customers will also be treated to exciting and engaging events held the respective cities where MPT will carry out promotional shows and giveaways. These include activities such as special offers for new MPT SIMs, SIM swaps as well as Top Up cards with premium souvenirs.

Mr. Reizo Umeda, Chief Commercial Officer, MPT-KSGM Joint Operations said, “The ambitious expansion of our LTE+ network, powered by next-generation 4×4 MIMO technology enabling double the speeds over other 4G services at up to 150Mbps, will allow the residents of these areas to enjoy a vastly improved online experience on their mobile devices.”

“Also in appreciation of our loyal customers and to mark the new network service availability, MPT is organizing public events with fun-filled activities throughout the day for the respective cities’ residents and visitors,” he added.

With its network rollout proceeding as scheduled in August, MPT is poised to fulfill its plan to provide LTE+ coverage at locations in every state and region of Myanmar, demonstrating its commitment to moving Myanmar forward through enhanced telecommunications services.

New LTE+ Locations

State / Region City / Township
Kachin Myitkyina
Kayah Loikaw
Kayin Hpa-An
Mandalay Nyaung-U
Shan (North) Lashio
Shan (East) Keng Tung

*Note: By 24th August 2017, MPT’s advanced LTE+ network on the 1.8GHz spectrum will be available in 78 townships, which includes 28 cities, State and Regional capitals.